Lire la leçon en anglais
puis traduisez dans votre propre langue pour vérifier votre compréhension.

Le concert’ Économie | Leçon d'anglais

Jan 2, 2023

Dans cette leçon d'anglais, vous apprendrez le vocabulaire lié au soi-disant ‘concert‘ économie qui croît actuellement à pas de géant — des mots comme concert, tâche, travailleur indépendant, et pigiste, parmi quelques autres.

Bonjour amis du monde entier. C'est le numéro du podcast 61. Je suis Alan Robert et je suis très heureux que vous m'ayez rejoint aujourd'hui. Aujourd'hui c'est le 2 janvier, 2023 – et c'est le premier podcast de cette année.  J'espère sincèrement que vous faites de grands progrès avec votre anglais dans 2023. C'est vraiment un privilège pour moi de faire partie de votre processus d'apprentissage.

Commençons avec notre leçon d'anglais.

Écoutez ce titre publié sur le site Web du Tony Blair Institute For Global Change, de retour le 12 avril 2022.

GROS TITRE:

Le faire fonctionner: Comprendre les lacunes et les opportunités de la Gig Economy

Alors, quel est le 'concert‘ économie?

Selon l'article (L'orthographe britannique est utilisée), et je cite:

Le moderne, L'économie numérique dynamique a souvent été qualifiée de « concert économie", avec Tâches (ou "concerts") de plus en plus médiatisé en ligne par le biais de plateformes de travail numériques.

Ils font référence à un marché du travail caractérisé par la prédominance des contrats à court terme ou du travail indépendant par opposition aux emplois permanents. Pensez à des services comme Uber, ou Airbnb, où les gens sont payés pour chaque service qu'ils fournissent. Par exemple, chaque livraison de nourriture, chaque trajet en taxi, ou à chaque fois qu'un appartement est loué.

Toujours, la notion de la 'concert‘ l'économie est encore un peu floue.

L'article continue en disant ceci:

"... il n'y a pas un seul, définition universellement acceptée de cette ligne "concert travail", comment il diffère des idées traditionnelles de l'emploi ou comment il se rapporte au concept de économie de plateforme.”

Ahah! Il y a une autre bonne expression à connaître: Économie de plateforme. Le 'économie de plateforme» est même un concept plus large que « le économie du concert'. Cela signifie que le commerce a de plus en plus tendance à utiliser des modèles commerciaux de plate-forme numérique à l'aide de logiciels et d'applications.

Mais même s'il n'y a pas de définition unique de 'concert travail', l'article indique qu'il est généralement compris comme "à court terme, travail à la demande via des plateformes en ligne, avec des travailleurs généralement payés par tâche, et la plupart des travailleurs classés contractuellement comme travailleurs indépendants ou entrepreneurs indépendants.

En conséquence de cela, la main-d'œuvre peut être plus productive, mais les travailleurs peuvent aussi perdre des droits. Et c'est à cela que le titre fait référence lorsqu'il dit qu'il y a "lacunes'. UN 'défaut', c'est quand il y a un manquement à une certaine norme.

Alors, amis, la prochaine fois que vous demanderez un taxi ou commanderez de la nourriture avec une application, vous participez au ‘concert‘ 'économie, et vous créez des emplois à court terme pour un 'concert‘ ouvrier. Il y a des avantages et des inconvénients à cette nouvelle réalité et cela continuera d'être une question d'intérêt pour les économistes du monde entier. Il est utile de savoir en discuter en anglais.

Vocabulaire

Revoyons le vocabulaire:

  • Concert: une tâche, un travail, ou une mission.
  • Économie du concert est un marché du travail avec principalement des contrats à court terme par opposition aux emplois permanents.
  • Économie de plateforme: économie basée sur les applications et les logiciels.
  • Travailleur indépendant: travailler pour soi en tant qu'indépendant ou propriétaire d'une entreprise plutôt que pour un employeur.
  • Indépendant: quelqu'un qui travaille pour différentes entreprises à des moments différents au lieu d'être employé en permanence par une seule entreprise. Indépendants sont travailleur indépendant.
  • Défaut: Quelque chose qui n'est pas adéquat. Quelque chose qui tombe à court.

D'accord, c'est tout pour notre leçon de vocabulaire, mais avant de nous lancer dans un exercice de prononciation, Je veux vous encourager à vous inscrire à mon séminaire vidéo de 70 minutes sur la façon de faire de bonnes présentations en anglais, même si votre anglais n'est toujours pas parfait.

Il y a aussi une fonction de traduction très cool sur cette page Web, afin que vous puissiez traduire toutes les leçons du podcast dans votre propre langue afin de pouvoir revérifier l'exactitude.

Prononciation

Bien! Faisons quelques exercices de prononciation de cinq mots fréquemment utilisés par les économistes, pour vous assurer que vous les prononcez correctement.

Écoutez attentivement:

Étranger

Culture

Cours

Client

Industrie

Conclusion

Je reviens bientôt avec une autre leçon d'anglais. Si vous avez apprécié celui-ci, vous pourriez également profiter de notre cours d'anglais sur Le secteur technologique indien et l'empreinte carbone, pour plus de vocabulaire lié à la technologie. Voici Alan Robert sur englishforeconomists.com. Bonne année à tous!

—-

crédit photo: Travailleur de concert. (2022, Décembre 8). Dans Wikipédia, l'encyclopédie libre. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gig_worker

 

Rejoignez notre club de podcasts

Vous pouvez également vous abonner à notre podcast sur ces plateformes:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée. les champs requis sont indiqués *

Derniers podcasts

Rétractionflation, La lésineflation et la « Sheconomie »’

Rétractionflation, La lésineflation et la « Sheconomie »’

Bonjour, copains. C'est super d'être de retour. Ayant été absent pendant un certain temps, Je vous ai préparé un épisode spécial. Aujourd'hui, nous ne couvrons pas seulement un mais deux titres. En regardant ces histoires, Je vais vous présenter quelques termes fascinants qui décrivent très...

'Cygne blanc’ et « Cygne noir’ Événements

'Cygne blanc’ et « Cygne noir’ Événements

Aujourd'hui, nous explorons un sujet fascinant qui a beaucoup retenu l'attention dans les milieux financiers: le concept des événements Black Swan et White Swan. Notre discussion et notre cours d'anglais d'aujourd'hui ont été inspirés par un récent article de Bloomberg du 30 janvier intitulé, "UN...

« Acier vous-même’ pour une potentielle guerre commerciale

« Acier vous-même’ pour une potentielle guerre commerciale

Notre leçon d'aujourd'hui est basée sur un article de The Economist Magazine, publié le 9 janvier, titré "Xi Jinping risque de déclencher une nouvelle guerre commerciale." Écoute encore, "Xi Jinping risque de déclencher une nouvelle guerre commerciale."...

Acheter maintenant, Payer plus tard (BNPL) est en plein essor

Acheter maintenant, Payer plus tard (BNPL) est en plein essor

Dans l'épisode 85, nous nous penchons sur un titre fascinant de début décembre publié par CNN: « C’est du prêt sous stéroïdes »: Comment Acheter maintenant, Les entreprises Pay Later répondent à un afflux de demande malgré des coûts plus élevés....

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

The ‘Gig’ Economy | English Lesson

Jan 2, 2023

In this English lesson, you will learn vocabulary related to the so-called ‘gig‘ economy that is currently growing with leaps and bounds — words like gig, task, self-employed, and freelancer, among a few others.  

Hello friends from all over the world. This is podcast number 61. I am Alan Robert and I am very happy that you joined me today. Today is January 2nd, 2023 – and this is the first podcast of this year.  I sincerely hope that you make great strides with your English in 2023. It is really a privilege for me to be a part of your learning process.

Let’s get started with our English lesson.

Listen to this headline that was posted on the website of the Tony Blair Institute For Global Change, back in 12th April 2022.

HEADLINE:

Making It Work: Understanding the Gig Economy’s Shortcomings and Opportunities

So, what is the ‘gig‘ economy?

According to the article (British spelling is used), and I quote:

The modern, dynamic digitalised economy has often been characterised as the “gig economy”, with tasks (or “gigs”) increasingly mediated online through digital labour platforms.

They are referring to a labor market characterized by the prevalence of short-term contracts or freelance work as opposed to permanent jobs. Think about services like Uber, or Airbnb, where people are paid for each service they provide. For example, each food delivery, each taxi ride, or each time an apartment is rented.

Still, the concept of the ‘gig‘ economy is still a little vague.

The article goes on to say this:

“… there is no single, universally accepted definition of this online “gig work”, how it differs from traditional ideas of employment or how it relates to the concept of the platform economy.”

Aha! There is another good expression to know: Platform economy. The ‘platform economy’ is even a broader concept than ‘the gig economy’. It means the tendency for commerce to increasingly use digital platform business models using software and apps.

But even though there is no single definition of ‘gig work’, the article states that it is usually understood as “short-term, on-demand work mediated by online platforms, with workers typically paid per task, and most workers contractually classified as self-employed or independent contractors.”

As a result of this, the labor force can be more productive, but workers can also lose rights. And that’s what the title refers to when it says that there are ‘shortcomings’. A ‘shortcoming’ is when there is a failure to meet a certain standard.

So friends, next time you request a taxi or order food with an application, you are a participant in the ‘gig‘ ‘economy, and you are creating short-term employment for a ‘gig‘ worker.  There are pros and cons to this new reality and it will continue to be an issue of interest for economists all over the world. It is useful to know how to discuss it in English.

Vocabulary

Let’s review the vocabulary:

  • Gig: a task, a job, or an assignment.
  • Gig Economy is a labor market with mostly short-term contracts as opposed to permanent jobs.
  • Platform economy: economy based on apps and software.
  • Self-employed: working for oneself as a freelancer or the owner of a business rather than for an employer.
  • Freelancer: someone working for different companies at different times instead of being permanently employed by one company. Freelancers are self-employed.
  • Shortcoming: Something that is not adequate. Something that falls short.

Okay, that’s it for our vocabulary lesson but before we jump into some pronunciation practice, I want to encourage you to subscribe to my 70-minute video seminar on how to give great presentations in English, even if your English still isn’t perfect.

There is also a very cool translator function on this web page, so you can translate all of the podcast lessons into your own language so you can double-check for accuracy.

Pronunciation

Alright! Let’s do some pronunciation practice of five words that economists frequently use, to make sure you are saying them right.

Listen closely:

Foreign

Culture

Course

Customer

Industry

Conclusion

I’ll be back soon with another English lesson. If you enjoyed this one, you might also enjoy our English lesson on India’s Tech Sector and the Carbon Footprint, for more tech-related vocabulary. This is Alan Robert at englishforeconomists.com. Happy New Year to all!

—-

Photo credit: Gig worker. (2022, December 8). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gig_worker

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

The 996 Culture

The 996 Culture

What is the 996 culture? This refers to a work schedule that has been making waves in the tech industry, particularly in China. Yes, the "996" culture. It’s a practice that's been both supported and criticized for its impact on employees and companies alike. But...

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....