用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

乘坐投资过山车

三月 22, 2023

在这一集中, 我们将讨论 3 月 16 日发表在《经济学人》杂志上的一篇文章, 标题 “全球投资热潮正在走向萧条吗?

本文介绍了世界各地的公司如何因各种因素而缩减投资, 扭转 COVID-19 大流行后出现的投资热潮. 换句话说, 繁荣 (这是新冠疫情后支出的增长) 已大幅减少, 所以繁荣变成了萧条.

副标题为我们提供了更多信息,并向我们介绍了另一个关键表达方式: “为什么资本支出现在正朝着错误的方向发展。”

资本支出是指资本支出. 资本支出: 资本支出. 所以, 如果有“半身像”, 资本支出是 “朝着错误的方向前进。”

这个播客的听众似乎很喜欢我一直在教的惯用表达. 所以, 让我与您分享一个处理繁荣转为萧条时的情况的例子. 这是: “坐过山车。” 这个惯用语用于描述投资的起伏或波动, 反映了市场周期的不可预测性以及快速增长和突然下降的潜力. 期限 “过山车” 指的是有陡峭斜坡的惊险游乐园游乐设施, 急转弯, 和突然下降. 当用在这个表达中时, 过山车象征着投资和资本支出领域经常经历的巨大变化和不确定性.

现在, 如果您对投资相关问题感兴趣, 你可能还想看看我去年十月做的关于类似情况的一门相关的英语课. 它的标题是: “金融科技融资低迷.

现在, 在我们最后一次复习词汇之前, 我有两个重要的提醒要提醒你: 如果您需要用英语进行演示, 我提供了一个关于这个主题的非常好的视频研讨会. 它将教您如何组织演示文稿以使其更易于理解. 该视频位于 网页. 还, 如果您想要一些,请告诉我 私人英语会话课程 与我一起. 即使每周只上一两个小时的课也能真正提高你的英语流利程度.

谢谢你的聆听 “经济学家英语”. 今天你听到的标题: “全球投资热潮正在走向萧条吗?” 和 “为什么资本支出现在正朝着错误的方向发展。” 你已经了解到:

一个 “繁荣” 指经济快速增长或扩张的时期, 通常以增加投资为特征, 高需求, 和创造就业机会.

一个 “摔碎” 与繁荣相反, 代表经济收缩时期, 通常以投资减少为标志, 需求低, 和失业.

“资本支出” 或者 “资本支出” 指的是公司花在收购上的钱, 维持, 或升级其实物资产, 例如建筑物, 机械, 和设备, 提高其容量或效率.

 小心, 我很快就会回来上另一堂课.

—————————————————————————————————————————————————-

照片来源 :  加布里埃尔·瓦尔迪兹 在不飞溅

文章:  https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2023/03/16/is-the-global-investment-boom-turning-to-bust

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

今天, 我们正在探索一个引人入胜的话题,该话题引起了金融界的广泛关注: 黑天鹅事件和白天鹅事件的概念. 我们今天的讨论和英语课的灵感来自于 1 月 30 日彭博社最近发表的一篇文章,题为, "A...

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

我们今天的课程基于《经济学人》杂志的一篇文章, 1月9日发表, 标题 "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。" 再听一遍, "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。"...

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

今天课程的来源是彭博新闻社的一篇文章, 标题为“开始新的一年你需要知道的五件事”. 这篇文章对市场做出了一些预测 2024. 他们说将会出现“美元熊市”、“债券牛市”和“稳定股票”…….

什么是‘意外之财’?

什么是‘意外之财’?

今天, 我们剖析《卫报》的一个有趣的标题, 本周早些时候发布. 我们将阐明它所呈现的词汇和概念. https://open.spotify.com/episode/4gv38LOliwLyMAQkrOIgmB?si=mk5lHPdZR5apuxI8bg8AmQ 我们今天的主要焦点是...

什么是经济狂妄?

什么是经济狂妄?

今天, 我们正在关注 CNN 亚洲经济市场引起轰动的头条新闻: "当中国步履蹒跚之际,印度经济又恢复了辉煌。" 这里的“经济狂妄”一词是一个丰富多彩的方式来描述印度如何炫耀其经济实力.......

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

Riding the Investment Roller Coaster

Mar 22, 2023

In this episode, we will be discussing an article published on March 16th in the Economist Magazine, titled “Is the global investment boom turning to bust?

The article describes how companies worldwide are scaling back their investments due to various factors, reversing the investment boom that emerged after the COVID-19 pandemic. In other words, the boom (which was the post-COVID increase in spending) has decreased substantially, so the boom as turned to a bust.

The sub-title gives us more information and introduces us to another key expression: “Why capex spending is now heading in the wrong direction.”

Capex refers to Capital Expenditure. Capex: Capital Expenditure. So, if there is a ‘bust’, capital expenditure is “heading in the wrong direction.”

Listeners of this podcast seem to be enjoying the idiomatic expressions I have been teaching. So, let me share one with you that deals with a situation when a boom turns into a bust. It is: “Riding the roller coaster.” This idiomatic expression is used to describe the ups and downs or fluctuations in investments, reflecting the unpredictable nature of market cycles and the potential for both rapid growth and sudden declines. The term “roller coaster” refers to a thrilling amusement park ride with steep inclines, sharp turns, and sudden drops. When used metaphorically in this expression, a roller coaster symbolizes the dramatic changes and uncertainty often experienced in the world of investments and capital expenditure.

Now, if issues related to investment interest you, you might also want to check out a somewhat related English lesson I did last October about a similar situation. It was titled: “Fintech Financing Slump.

Now, before we review the vocabulary one last time, I have two important reminders for you: if you are someone who needs to give presentations in English, I offer a very good video seminar on this topic. It will teach you how to organize your presentation to make it easier to understand. That video is on the webpage. Also, let me know if you would like to have some private English conversation classes with me. Even just one or two hours of class a week can really improve your fluency in English.

Thank you for listening to “English for Economists”. Today you heard the titles: “Is the global investment boom turning to bust?” and “Why capex spending is now heading in the wrong direction.” You have learned that:

A “boom” refers to a period of rapid growth or expansion in an economy, often characterized by increased investments, high demand, and job creation.

A “bust” is the opposite of a boom, representing a period of economic contraction, often marked by reduced investments, low demand, and job losses.

“Capex” or “Capital Expenditure” refers to the money a company spends on acquiring, maintaining, or upgrading its physical assets, such as buildings, machinery, and equipment, to increase its capacity or efficiency.

 Take care, and I’ll be back soon with another lesson.

—————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Photo credit :  Gabriel Valdez in Unsplash

Article:  https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2023/03/16/is-the-global-investment-boom-turning-to-bust

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

In Episode 85,  we delve into a fascinating headline from early December published by CNN: ‘It’s lending on steroids’: How Buy Now, Pay Later companies are meeting an influx of demand despite higher costs....