用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

法国退休年龄之争 | 英语课

二月 22, 2023

今天, 我们要谈谈退休年龄.

听听这个标题, 二月发表 11, 2023:

随着马克龙推进养老金改革,法国准备抗议.

再次:

随着马克龙推进养老金改革,法国准备抗议.

“支持抗议” 指为抗议或示威期间可能发生的问题或干扰做好准备. 所以, 在法国让这么多人不满的养老金改革到底是怎么回事?? 出色地, 法国政府提议将法定退休年龄从 62 到 64 经过 2030 养老金制度的重大改革.

“法定退休年龄”是什么意思?

法定退休年龄是指法律规定雇员退休的年龄, 由政府决定. 这个退休年龄通常由立法规定, 雇主有法律义务强制执行. 法定退休年龄.

那么法国政府为什么要推进这项改革呢?, 尽管有所有的抗议? 出色地, 问题的根源——以及 “问题的根源” 我的意思是问题的根源——是随着医疗保健的改善, 人们的寿命比以往任何时候都长, 并且“老年人”的数量正在增加. “Senior citizens”是“elderly citizens”或“old people”的另一种说法. 换句话说, 人们的寿命更长, 法国正在应对“人口老龄化”带来的经济后果.  随着人们寿命的延长, 退休人员领取养老金和其他形式的社会保障福利的时间增加, 比如医疗服务.

那里的政策制定者认为,提高退休年龄将增加劳动力人数并减轻社会保障计划的负担. 另一方面, 反对这项措施的人说,提高退休年龄也会对工人产生负面影响,因为他们必须工作比计划更长的时间, 这限制了他们享受晚年的能力. 当工人从事体力劳动时尤其如此. 所以, 如我们所见, 在退休年龄时平衡个人和社会的需求对决策者来说是一个有争议的问题.

这是今天给你的奖金. 我要教你成语‘熟龄’. “耄耋之年” 可以用来形容一个人过着漫长而充实的生活并且获得了大量的经验和智慧. 谈论长寿的人是一种积极和尊重的方式. 你可以像在这个例子中那样使用它: “我爷爷活到98高龄”.

好的, 再听一遍我们关键短语的发音:

• 为抗议做好准备
• 法定退休年龄
• 人口老龄化
• 社会保障福利
• 和成语 “耄耋之年”.

如果您对退休话题感兴趣, 查看播客编号 7, 涵盖了 养老金话题.  如果你有兴趣和我一起在线上私人课程, 我提供包裹 10 小时和 30 课时. 你在哪个时区并不重要; 我们可以找到一个对我们双方都适用的时间表. 这对我来说很有趣, 也, 拥有来自世界各地的学生.

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

网络信用: https://www.politico.eu/article/france-emmanuel-macron-braced-for-protests-pushes-forward-with-pension-reform/

照片来源:  CC BY-SA 4.0

文件:Sens-FR-89-演示 19 01 23-养老金改革16.jpg

已创建: 19 一月 2023

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

今天, 我们正在探索一个引人入胜的话题,该话题引起了金融界的广泛关注: 黑天鹅事件和白天鹅事件的概念. 我们今天的讨论和英语课的灵感来自于 1 月 30 日彭博社最近发表的一篇文章,题为, "A...

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

我们今天的课程基于《经济学人》杂志的一篇文章, 1月9日发表, 标题 "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。" 再听一遍, "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。"...

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

今天课程的来源是彭博新闻社的一篇文章, 标题为“开始新的一年你需要知道的五件事”. 这篇文章对市场做出了一些预测 2024. 他们说将会出现“美元熊市”、“债券牛市”和“稳定股票”…….

什么是‘意外之财’?

什么是‘意外之财’?

今天, 我们剖析《卫报》的一个有趣的标题, 本周早些时候发布. 我们将阐明它所呈现的词汇和概念. https://open.spotify.com/episode/4gv38LOliwLyMAQkrOIgmB?si=mk5lHPdZR5apuxI8bg8AmQ 我们今天的主要焦点是...

什么是经济狂妄?

什么是经济狂妄?

今天, 我们正在关注 CNN 亚洲经济市场引起轰动的头条新闻: "当中国步履蹒跚之际,印度经济又恢复了辉煌。" 这里的“经济狂妄”一词是一个丰富多彩的方式来描述印度如何炫耀其经济实力.......

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

The Battle Over Retirement Age in France | English Lesson

Feb 22, 2023

Today, we are going to talk about retirement age.

Listen to this headline, published on February 11, 2023:

France braces for protests as Macron pushes forward with pension reform.

Again:

France braces for protests as Macron pushes forward with pension reform.

“Brace for protests” means to get ready for possible problems or disturbances that could happen during a protest or demonstration. So, what is it about pension reform that has so many people upset in France? Well, France’s government has proposed raising the statutory retirement age from 62 to 64 by 2030 in a major reform to the pension system.

What do I mean by ‘statutory retirement age’?

Statutory retirement age refers to the age at which an employee is required by law to retire, as determined by the government. This retirement age is typically set by legislation, and employers are legally obligated to enforce it. Statutory retirement age.

So why does the French government want to push ahead with this reform, in spite of all the protests? Well, the root of the problem –– and by “the root of the problem” I mean the origin of the problem –– is that with improvements in healthcare, people are living longer than ever, and the number of ‘senior citizens’ is increasing. ‘Senior citizens’ is another way to say ‘elderly citizens’ or ‘old people’. In other words, people are living longer, and France is dealing with the economic consequences of having an ‘aging population’.  With people living longer, the length of time retirees receives a pension and other forms of social security benefits increase, such as medical services.

Policymakers there argue that increasing the retirement age will increase the number of people in the workforce and reduce the burden on social security programs. On the other hand, people opposed to the measure say that increasing the retirement age can also have negative impacts on workers because they’ll have to work longer than they planned, which limits their ability to enjoy their later years. This is especially true when the workers work at physically demanding jobs. So, as we can see, balancing the needs of individuals and society when it comes to retirement age is a controversial issue for policymakers.

Here is a bonus for you today. I want to teach you the idiom ‘ripe old age’. “Ripe old age” can be used to describe someone who has lived a long and fulfilling life and has gained a great deal of experience and wisdom. It is a positive and respectful way to talk about someone who has lived a long time. You can use it like in this example: “My grandfather lived to the ripe old age of 98”.

Okay, listen once again to the pronunciation of our key phrases:

• Brace for protests
• Statutory retirement age
• Aging population
• Social security benefits
• And the idiom “ripe old age”.

If the topic of retirement interests you, check out podcast number 7, which covers the topic of pensions.  If you are interested in taking private classes online with me, I offer packages of 10 hours and 30 hours of class. It doesn’t matter what time zone you are in; we can find a schedule that works for both of us. It’s great fun for me, too, to have students from all over the world.

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Web credit: https://www.politico.eu/article/france-emmanuel-macron-braced-for-protests-pushes-forward-with-pension-reform/

Photo credit:  CC BY-SA 4.0

File:Sens-FR-89-manif 19 01 23-réforme retraites-16.jpg

Created: 19 January 2023

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

In Episode 85,  we delve into a fascinating headline from early December published by CNN: ‘It’s lending on steroids’: How Buy Now, Pay Later companies are meeting an influx of demand despite higher costs....