用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

经济衰退或软着陆?

七月 29, 2023

在今天的节目中, 我们将研究 7 月发表在《纽约时报》上的一篇评论文章,该文章讨论了经济衰退的可能性 24, 2023. 在这个播客中, 我将介绍一些非常有用的词汇,帮助您讨论自己国家的经济衰退问题.

该文章由观点专栏作家彼得·科伊撰写. 它的标题是:

回顾历史表明,举证责任在于乐观主义者

(重复)

现在当作者, 彼得·科伊, 说“举证责任在于乐观者”, 他的意思是,认为美国将避免衰退的经济学家——乐观主义者——需要证明这一点, 因为他——这篇文章的作者——认为相反. 他很悲观,认为美国将陷入衰退.

所以, 争论有两个方面. 文章首先探讨了为什么一些经济学家如此乐观, 以及为什么他们认为经济将避免衰退并实现所谓的“软着陆”, 这意味着一段缓慢增长的时期, 但没有进入衰退. “软着陆”.

作者说他理解乐观的情况. 毕竟, 有很多原因, 对美国经济持乐观态度, 他提到了一些, 例如, 我引用:  “失业率仍然很低. 通胀下降……消费者信心增强. 而且股市上涨了。”

不仅, 乐观主义者提到以下内容: “消费者仍有一些未用完的大流行刺激储蓄; 即使情况恶化,企业也将缓慢裁员, 因为人才很难找到; 家庭和企业债务负担较轻; 通胀预期较低且稳定, 这样美联储就可以放松; 石油价格已经回落。”请记住,“解雇”是指暂时或永久终止雇员的雇佣关系.

所以, 有很多理由保持乐观, 正确的? 出色地, 据作者称, 错误的. 相反,他表示经济衰退“迫在眉睫”,该国“正走向衰退”.

我们之前在这些播客中看到过“隐现”这个词. “迫在眉睫”是指迫在眉睫的威胁. 如果你说某件事“迫在眉睫”, 就像经济衰退一样, 你是说它“就在拐角处”. 它很接近并且具有威胁性. 若隐若现.

他为什么这么想? 他说: “一个有说服力的数据点是世界大型企业联合会领先经济指数的稳步下降。”

作者提到,根据经济学家大卫·罗森伯格 (David Rosenberg) 的说法, 先行经济指数开始下降 13 经济衰退开始和衰退前的几个月 4.6 经济衰退开始前的百分比, 自 12 月以来每次经济衰退都会发生这种情况 1969. 作者说按照这个标准, 美国现在“深入危险区”.   

顺便一提, 为了您的普遍利益, 你应该知道美国. 领先经济指数, 或“L.E.I”, 总共包含十个组件, 包括这样的领先指标:

  • 制造业平均每周工时
  • 平均每周首次申请失业保险
  • 制造商’ 消费品新订单, 和材料
  • 新私人住宅单位的建筑许可证
  • 消费者对商业状况的平均预期
  • 利差, 10-年国债减去联邦基金

所以, 领先指标, 或课程, 是表明未来会发生什么的指标.

作者特别重视我提到的最后一个指标. 10年期国债利差. 他提请注意短期利率现在高于长期利率的事实, 这是一个强有力的衰退指标.

不仅, 但他补充说,美联储近期加息的全部力量尚未对经济产生影响, 因为他们的行动有滞后, 利率上升已经损害了房屋销售量和价格,并给小型银行带来了压力. 所以, 这就是他悲观的原因.

顺便一提, 美联储本周将参考利率再上调四分之一个百分点, 这将进一步给经济增长带来压力. 以及“增长压力”, 我指的是一种不利于增长的力量. 如果你感到压力, 有什么东西在向你施压.

所以由于所有这些原因, 作者的结论是, 我引用: “我坚持我的经济衰退预测。” “坚持”某事是什么意思. 就是站在一旁的意思. 维持. 所以他坚持对经济衰退的预测. 他说“举证责任”需要改变他的想法, 需要乐观主义者提供.  

非常有趣的文章,充满了很多很棒的词汇. 我会将链接放在节目笔记中,您可以在网页 englishforeconomists.com 上找到该链接. 当你在那里时, 请花一点时间订阅我们的时事通讯,以获取有关即将推出的课程和活动的通知, 并确保您不会错过任何一堂播客课程.

说到教训, 敬请关注我即将推出的名为《经济学家在行动》的视频系列. 这个十二章的视频课程将为您提供一种绝佳的方式来复习您用英语谈论经济时所需的关键词汇的理解和发音. 我们正处于生产的收尾阶段, 所以请继续关注.

好吧我的朋友们, 让我们最后复习一下今天的关键词汇:

举证责任: 一方有责任提供足够的证据或论据来支持其主张

软着陆: 当经济降温时, 但避免陷入衰退

裁员: 暂时或永久终止工人的雇佣关系

领先指标: 表明未来会发生什么的指标

增长压力: 使增长变得更加困难的力量

坚持你的预测: 当你站在旁边时, 你坚持, 你维持你的预测. 坚持下去.

并坚持你的英语​​学习. 每一点点都有帮助, 我很感激你发现这些课程很有用.

我很快就会带着另一个充满经济学家英语的播客回来. 保持良好状态并持续关注.

再见.

——————————————————————————————————————————————

图片:  图片来源: Ali Hajian 免费下载, 美丽的, ALI HAJIAN 策划的高品质照片 / 工作 : alisvisuals@gmail.com INSTAGRAM : @alisvisuals

文章来源:

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

掉头的意义

掉头的意义

在这个播客中, 您将学习几种不同的方式来描述政策的突然逆转. 大家好. 欢迎来到经济学家英语, 唯一关注任何需要说英语的人的英语需求的播客, 读, 甚至写有关经济的文章...

大幅削减预测并感受到压力

大幅削减预测并感受到压力

今天的节目涉及贸易, 趋势, 和预测. 加入我,一起学习 3 新词, 和一个有用的表达. https://open.spotify.com/episode/1U1S20PLA5d4OuaEqNlFoC?si=ee4192aeabf04b3d 大家好,快乐的经济学家们. 这是艾伦·罗伯特, 回来与...

欧洲选择新的纸币设计

欧洲选择新的纸币设计

钱, 特别是钞票, 是今天经济学家英语词汇课的主题. 我们将了解欧元区如何重新设计其纸币. 事实证明这比你想象的要难. 欢迎来到经济学家英语, 播客...

铜价

铜价

在今天的节目中, 我们将研究一篇题为“铜出乎意料地变得更便宜”的文章, 7月6日发表在《经济学人》杂志上, 2023. 我们会看到为什么铜变得越来越便宜, 一路上你会学到一些有用的词汇.......

什么是碳连接键?

什么是碳连接键?

欢迎收看剧集 76 经济学家英语. 今天, 我们将再次关注与气候变化有关的问题, 以及经济学在减少空气污染方面可以发挥的作用. 我们将深入研究这些术语: “碳定价”, “碳联债券”,...

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

Recession or Soft Landing?

Jul 29, 2023

In today’s episode, we’ll examine an opinion article that talks about the possibilities of a recession that was published in the New York Times on July 24th, 2023.  In this podcast, I will introduce some really useful vocabulary that will help you discuss the issue of recession in your own country.

The article was written by opinion columnist Peter Coy. It is titled:

A look at history shows that the burden of proof is on the optimists

(repeat)

Now when the  author, Peter Coy, says ‘the burden of proof is on the optimists’, he’s means that the economists who think the United States will avoid a recession – the optimists – need to prove this point, because he – the writer of the article – thinks the opposite. He is pessimistic and believes that the USA will fall into a recession.

So, there are two sides to the argument. The article first examines just why some economists are so optimistic, and why they think that the economy will avoid a recession and instead have a so-called ‘soft landing’, which means a period of slow growth, but without entering a recession. A ‘soft landing’.

The author says that he understands the case for optimism. After all, there are many reasons, to be optimistic about the US economy, and he mentions a few, such as, and I quote:  “Unemployment is still low. Inflation has come down… Consumer confidence has strengthened. And the stock market is up.”

Not only that, the optimists mention the following: “Consumers still have some unspent savings from the pandemic stimulus; businesses will be slow to lay off workers even if conditions worsen, because talent is hard to find; household and business debt loads are light; inflation expectations are low and well-anchored, so the Fed can relax; and oil prices have receded.” Remember that to ‘lay off’ means to temporarily or permanently terminate the employment of an employee.

So, there are lots of good reasons to be optimistic, right? Well, according to the author, wrong. He says instead that recession is “looming” and the country is “headed for recession”.

We have seen the word ‘looming’ in these podcasts before. ‘Looming’ is something that is an impending threat. If you say something is ‘looming’, like recession, you are saying that it is ‘right around the corner’. It’s close and it’s threatening. Looming.

Why does he think this? He states: “One persuasive data point is the steady decline in the Conference Board’s Leading Economic Index.”

The author mentions that according to economist David Rosenberg, the Leading Economic Index started to decline 13 months before a recession begins and falls 4.6 percent before the recession begins, and this has happened for every recession since December 1969. The author says that by that metric, the USA is now “deep into the danger zone”.   

By the way, for your general interest, you should know that the U.S. Leading Economic Index, or ‘L.E.I’, contains ten components in all, including leading indicators like these:

  • Average weekly hours in the manufacturing sector
  • Average weekly initial claims for unemployment insurance
  • Manufacturers’ new orders of consumer goods, and materials
  • Building permits of new private housing units
  • Average consumer expectations for business conditions
  • Interest rate spread, 10-year Treasury bonds less federal funds

So, leading indicators, or course, are indicators that suggest what will happen in the future.

The author gives special importance to the last metric I mention. The interest rate spread on 10-year treasury bonds. He draws attention to the fact that the short-term interest rates are now higher than the long-term interest rates, and that is a strong recession indicator.

Not only that, but he adds that the full force of the Fed’s recent rate increases are yet to hit the economy, because they act with a lag, and that rising interest rates have already hurting home sales volume and prices and have put pressure on smaller banks. So, that’s why he is pessimistic.

By the way, the Fed raised the reference rate another quarter point this week, which will put further pressure on growth. And by ‘pressure on growth’, I mean a force that works against growth. If you feel pressure, something is pushing on you.

So for all of these reasons, the author concludes that, and I quote: “I’m sticking with my recession forecast.” What does it mean to “stick by” something. It means to stand by. To maintain. So he is sticking with his forecast for recession. And he says that the “burden of proof” needed to change his mind, needs to be provided by the optimists.  

Very interesting article full of lots of great vocabulary. I will put the link in the show notes that you can find on the webpage englishforeconomists.com. While you are there, take a second and subscribe to our newsletter to get notified about upcoming courses and events, and to make sure you never miss one of the podcast lessons.

Speaking of lessons, be on the lookout for my upcoming video series called Economists in Action. This twelve-chapter video course is going to offer you an excellent way for you to review your understanding and pronunciation of key vocabulary that you’ll need to speak about the economy in English. We are in the finishing stages of production, so stay tuned.

Alright my friends, let’s review today’s key vocabulary one last time:

Burden of proof: the responsibility one party has to provide sufficient evidence or arguments to support their claims

Soft landing: when the economy cools, but avoids entering a recession

Lay off employees: to temporarily or permanently terminate the employment of workers

Leading indicators: indicators that suggest what will happen in the future

Pressure on growth: a force that makes growth harder

Sticking with your forecast: when you stand by, you insist, you maintain your forecast. Stick with it.

And stick with your English studies. Every little bit helps, and I am grateful to you that you find these lessons useful.

I’ll be back soon with another podcast full of English for economists. Keep well and stay tuned.

Bye bye.

——————————————————————————————————————————————

Image:  Image credit: Ali HajianDownload FREE, BEAUTIFUL, HIGH-QUALITY Photos curated by ALI HAJIAN / WORK : alisvisuals@gmail.com INSTAGRAM : @alisvisuals

Article Source:

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

In Episode 85,  we delve into a fascinating headline from early December published by CNN: ‘It’s lending on steroids’: How Buy Now, Pay Later companies are meeting an influx of demand despite higher costs....

What Is a ‘Windfall’?

What Is a ‘Windfall’?

Today, we dissect an intriguing headline from The Guardian newspaper, published earlier this week. We'll unravel the vocabulary and concepts it presents. https://open.spotify.com/episode/4gv38LOliwLyMAQkrOIgmB?si=mk5lHPdZR5apuxI8bg8AmQ Our primary focus today revolves...

What is Economic Swagger?

What is Economic Swagger?

Today, we're focusing on a headline that's making waves from CNN Economic Marketplace Asia: "India regains its economic swagger as China stumbles." The term 'economic swagger' here is a colorful way to describe how India is showing off its economic strength and...

The Meaning of U-Turn

The Meaning of U-Turn

In this podcast, you will learn a few different ways to describe a sudden reversal in policy. Hi everyone. Welcome to English for Economists, the only podcast that focuses on the English needs of anyone who has to speak, read, or even write about the economy in...

Slashing Forecasts and Feeling the Pinch

Slashing Forecasts and Feeling the Pinch

Today’s episode touches on trade, trends, and forecasts. Join me and learn 3 new words, and one useful expression. https://open.spotify.com/episode/1U1S20PLA5d4OuaEqNlFoC?si=ee4192aeabf04b3d Hello all you happy economists out there. This is Alan Robert, back with...

Europe Chooses New Banknote Design

Europe Chooses New Banknote Design

Money, and specifically banknotes, is the theme of today’s English vocabulary lesson for economists. We will look at how the Eurozone is redesigning its paper money. It turns out that it is harder than you might think. Welcome to English for Economists, the podcast...