用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

‘高端化’ 和“中产阶级化’

三月 7, 2023

在这一集中, 我们将讨论最近发表在《纽约时报》上的一篇文章,标题为 “是整个经济绅士化?” 再听一遍: 是整个经济绅士化?”

在中产阶级化的同时 (绅士化) 通常用于城市社区中较富裕的人取代较贫穷的人的情况, 它也可能发生在经济中, 低收入人群无法购买某些商品和服务. 所以, 标题问这个问题: “是整个经济绅士化?”

副标题为我们提供了更多信息并向我们介绍了另外两个词. 听副标题:

随着经济的变化,公司正试图保持丰厚的利润, 制作 “优质化” 他们最喜欢的流行语.

所以,这篇文章指的是公司专注于销售更高价格的趋势, 他们的产品和服务的高级版本面向愿意并且能够支付更多费用的高收入客户.

再听一遍副标题:

随着经济的变化,公司正试图保持丰厚的利润, 制作 “优质化” 他们最喜欢的流行语.

虽然提供优质产品的概念并不新鲜, 术语的使用 “优质化” 描述这种趋势是相对较新的. 精品化.

所以, 副标题指出“高端化”是新宠的“流行语”. 什么是流行语? 流行语被认为是现代的, 和时髦词. 所以, 每个人都在谈论“高端化”。这是一个新的“流行语”.

最后听一遍标题和副标题:

“是整个经济绅士化?”

随着经济的变化,公司正试图保持丰厚的利润, 制作 “优质化” 他们最喜欢的流行语.

这是您可以用来讨论此问题的惯用表达: “一把双刃剑”. 我们可以使用这个表达方式,因为虽然中产阶级化可以带来更高的投资和更高的利润, 这也可能意味着更高的价格, 使穷人难以获得商品和服务. 所以, 士绅化有利也有弊. 这是一把“双刃剑”.

词汇:

• 士绅化: 使一个地方或服务更富裕或中产阶级的过程, 通常导致低收入居民流离失所.

• 优质化: 公司鼓励客户购买其产品和服务的更昂贵和高档版本的趋势.

• 流行语: 时髦的或时髦的词或词组.

而且当然, 表达方式 “双刃剑”.

您可能还想看看我去年上过的关于以下主题的相关英语课 全民基本收入.

谢谢你的聆听 “经济学家英语”. 如果你有兴趣参加 私人在线课程 与我一起, 请访问我的网站, 英文foreconomists.com, 了解更多信息. 小心, 我很快就会回来上另一堂课.

——————————————————————————————————————————————

照片来源: 免费股票 在不飞溅

文章: https://www.nytimes.com/2023/03/04/business/economy/premium-prices-inflation.html

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

掉头的意义

掉头的意义

在这个播客中, 您将学习几种不同的方式来描述政策的突然逆转. 大家好. 欢迎来到经济学家英语, 唯一关注任何需要说英语的人的英语需求的播客, 读, 甚至写有关经济的文章...

大幅削减预测并感受到压力

大幅削减预测并感受到压力

今天的节目涉及贸易, 趋势, 和预测. 加入我,一起学习 3 新词, 和一个有用的表达. https://open.spotify.com/episode/1U1S20PLA5d4OuaEqNlFoC?si=ee4192aeabf04b3d 大家好,快乐的经济学家们. 这是艾伦·罗伯特, 回来与...

欧洲选择新的纸币设计

欧洲选择新的纸币设计

钱, 特别是钞票, 是今天经济学家英语词汇课的主题. 我们将了解欧元区如何重新设计其纸币. 事实证明这比你想象的要难. 欢迎来到经济学家英语, 播客...

经济衰退或软着陆?

经济衰退或软着陆?

在今天的节目中, 我们将研究 7 月 24 日发表在《纽约时报》上的一篇评论文章,该文章讨论了经济衰退的可能性, 2023. 在这个播客中, 我将介绍一些非常有用的词汇,帮助您讨论……的问题。.

铜价

铜价

在今天的节目中, 我们将研究一篇题为“铜出乎意料地变得更便宜”的文章, 7月6日发表在《经济学人》杂志上, 2023. 我们会看到为什么铜变得越来越便宜, 一路上你会学到一些有用的词汇.......

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

‘Premiumization’ and ‘Gentrification’

Mar 7, 2023

In this episode, we will be discussing an article recently published in The New York Times titled “Is the Entire Economy Gentrifying?” Listen again: Is the Entire Economy Gentrifying?”

While gentrification (gentrifying) is often used in the context of richer people displacing poorer people in urban neighborhoods, it can also occur within the economy, where people with lower incomes are priced out of certain goods and services. So, the headline asks the question: “Is the Entire Economy Gentrifying?”

The sub-title gives us more information and introduces us to another two words. Listen to the sub-title:

Companies are trying to maintain fat profits as the economy changes, making “premiumization” their new favorite buzzword.

So,this article is referring to a trend in which companies focus on selling higher-priced, premium versions of their products and services to higher-income customers who are willing and able to pay more.

Listen again to the sub-title:

Companies are trying to maintain fat profits as the economy changes, making “premiumization” their new favorite buzzword.

While the concept of offering premium products is not new, the use of the term “premiumization” to describe this trend is relatively recent. Premiumization.

So, the sub-heading stated that ‘premiumization’ was a new favorite ‘buzzword’. And what is a buzzword? A buzzword is considered to be a modern, and trendy word. So, everyone is talking about ‘premiumization’.  That’s a new “buzzword”.

Listen to the title and sub-title one last time:

“Is the Entire Economy Gentrifying?”

Companies are trying to maintain fat profits as the economy changes, making “premiumization” their new favorite buzzword.

Here is an idiomatic expression you might use to discuss this issue: “A double-edged sword”. We could use that expression because while gentrification can lead to higher investment and higher profits, it can also mean higher prices, making goods and services difficult for poor people to acquire. So, there are pros and cons to gentrification. It is a “double-edged sword”.

Vocabulary:

• Gentrification: the process of making a place or service more affluent or middle-class, often resulting in the displacement of lower-income residents.

• Premiumization: a trend where companies encourage customers to purchase more expensive and upscale versions of their products and services.

• Buzzword: a trendy or fashionable word or phrase.

And of course, the expression “a double-edged sword”.

You might also want to check out a somewhat related English lesson I did last year on the topic of universal basic income.

Thank you for listening to “English for Economists”. If you’re interested in taking private online classes with me, please visit my website, Englishforeconomists.com, for more information. Take care, and I’ll be back soon with another lesson.

——————————————————————————————————————————————

Photo credit: freestocks in Unsplash

Article: https://www.nytimes.com/2023/03/04/business/economy/premium-prices-inflation.html

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

The Meaning of U-Turn

The Meaning of U-Turn

In this podcast, you will learn a few different ways to describe a sudden reversal in policy. Hi everyone. Welcome to English for Economists, the only podcast that focuses on the English needs of anyone who has to speak, read, or even write about the economy in...

Slashing Forecasts and Feeling the Pinch

Slashing Forecasts and Feeling the Pinch

Today’s episode touches on trade, trends, and forecasts. Join me and learn 3 new words, and one useful expression. https://open.spotify.com/episode/1U1S20PLA5d4OuaEqNlFoC?si=ee4192aeabf04b3d Hello all you happy economists out there. This is Alan Robert, back with...

Europe Chooses New Banknote Design

Europe Chooses New Banknote Design

Money, and specifically banknotes, is the theme of today’s English vocabulary lesson for economists. We will look at how the Eurozone is redesigning its paper money. It turns out that it is harder than you might think. Welcome to English for Economists, the podcast...

Recession or Soft Landing?

Recession or Soft Landing?

In today's episode, we'll examine an opinion article that talks about the possibilities of a recession that was published in the New York Times on July 24th, 2023.  In this podcast, I will introduce some really useful vocabulary that will help you discuss the issue of...

Copper Prices

Copper Prices

In today's episode, we'll examine an article titled 'Copper is unexpectedly getting cheaper', published in the Economist magazine on July 6th, 2023. We will see why copper is getting cheaper, and you’ll learn some useful vocabulary along the way....