用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

近岸对冲 | 英语课

二月 7, 2023

今天, 我们正在讨论公司将业务转移到附近国家的趋势, 由于地缘政治原因, 或者因为最近全球供应链中断, 像海运集装箱危机, 和Covid带来的问题. 例如, 公司正在搬迁到墨西哥,以便更接近美国. 市场.

收听来自天然气英特尔网站的标题, 二月发表 2, 2023: “墨西哥近岸外包机会刺激能源需求.”

近岸外包”描述了这一趋势. 生产工厂正在向美国靠拢.

当然, “海岸”一词指的是海边的土地, 湖, 或其他大型水域. 但在这儿, 真的有边框的意思. “近岸外包” 是指行动接近您的边境时.

文章还提到了墨西哥的能源公司如何利用新的机会为这些新的生产工厂和办公室提供电力. 标题用了这个词 “刺激,”. 在这种情况下使用时, “刺激”意味着创造新的能源需求.

最后, 有一个与近岸外包有关的英语习语: “对冲你的赌注.” 这意味着采取预防措施来保护自己免受风险. 在这种情况下, 美国公司是 “对冲他们的赌注” 通过将主要生产设施搬到离家更近的地方,以确保他们的供应线.

  • 近岸外包
  • 刺激
  • 对冲赌注.

看到 朋友支持的相关课程.

——

照片来源: Unsplash 中的卡洛斯·阿兰达

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

今天, 我们正在探索一个引人入胜的话题,该话题引起了金融界的广泛关注: 黑天鹅事件和白天鹅事件的概念. 我们今天的讨论和英语课的灵感来自于 1 月 30 日彭博社最近发表的一篇文章,题为, "A...

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

我们今天的课程基于《经济学人》杂志的一篇文章, 1月9日发表, 标题 "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。" 再听一遍, "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。"...

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

今天课程的来源是彭博新闻社的一篇文章, 标题为“开始新的一年你需要知道的五件事”. 这篇文章对市场做出了一些预测 2024. 他们说将会出现“美元熊市”、“债券牛市”和“稳定股票”…….

什么是‘意外之财’?

什么是‘意外之财’?

今天, 我们剖析《卫报》的一个有趣的标题, 本周早些时候发布. 我们将阐明它所呈现的词汇和概念. https://open.spotify.com/episode/4gv38LOliwLyMAQkrOIgmB?si=mk5lHPdZR5apuxI8bg8AmQ 我们今天的主要焦点是...

什么是经济狂妄?

什么是经济狂妄?

今天, 我们正在关注 CNN 亚洲经济市场引起轰动的头条新闻: "当中国步履蹒跚之际,印度经济又恢复了辉煌。" 这里的“经济狂妄”一词是一个丰富多彩的方式来描述印度如何炫耀其经济实力.......

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

Hedging Bets with Nearshoring | English Lesson

Feb 7, 2023

Today, we’ll be discussing the trend of companies transferring their operations to nearby countries, because of geopolitical reasons, or because of recent disruptions in the global supply chain, like the shipping container crisis, and problems posed by Covid. For example, companies are relocating to Mexico in order to be closer to the U.S. market.

Listen to this headline from the Natural Gas Intel website, published on February 2, 2023: “Mexican Nearshoring Opportunities Seen Spurring Energy Needs.”

Nearshoring” describes this trend. Production plants are moving nearer to the United States.

Of course, the word “shore” refers to the land along the edge of a sea, lake, or other large body of water. But here, it really has the meaning of a border. “Nearshoring” is when the operations are close to your border.

The article also mentions how energy companies in Mexico are taking advantage of new opportunities to provide electricity to these new production plants and offices. The headline uses the word “spurring,”. When used in this context, “spurring” means creating new energy needs.

Finally, there’s an English idiom that relates to nearshoring: “hedging your bets.” This means taking precautions to protect yourself from risk. In this case, US companies are “hedging their bets” by moving key production facilities closer to home to ensure their supply lines.

  • Nearshoring
  • Spurring
  • Hedging a bet.

See a related lesson on Friend-shoring.

——

Photo credit: Carlos Aranda in Unsplash

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

The 996 Culture

The 996 Culture

What is the 996 culture? This refers to a work schedule that has been making waves in the tech industry, particularly in China. Yes, the "996" culture. It’s a practice that's been both supported and criticized for its impact on employees and companies alike. But...

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....