用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

欧洲选择新的纸币设计

九月 27, 2023

钱, 特别是钞票, 是今天经济学家英语词汇课的主题. 我们将了解欧元区如何重新设计其纸币. 事实证明这比你想象的要难.

欢迎来到经济学家英语, 该播客适合需要用英语讨论经济问题的成年人. 我的名字是艾伦·罗伯特, 这是播客号码 80. 非常感谢您今天加入我的行列.

欧洲的探索

今天, 我们正在解开一个涉及身份的主题, 安全, 和技术. 我们将阅读《经济学人》杂志最近发表的一篇文章,标题为: “哪个国家的天才值得 200 欧元纸币? 欧洲已做好战斗准备。”

所以, 时, 中央银行或者政府部门需要购买新纸币. 纸币: 那是你用来买东西的纸币, 您可能知道纸币为“票据”或“钞票”). 这些最终会变旧并需要更换.

更新纸币的另一个原因是引入新的纸币 面值, 并按面额, 我指的是纸币的面值, 代表票据价值的金额.  纸币的常见面额可能包括以下值: $1, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, ETC。, 取决于相关货币和国家/地区.

获得新纸币的另一个原因是,央行可以推出包含新安全元素的纸币,以使其更难伪造 (制作一个假副本).  有时, 这就是我们今天故事的重点, 中央银行利用订购新钞票的时刻来更新或更改钞票上使用的图像.  

当我说纸币不仅仅是纸时,您可能会同意我的观点. 他们是民族自豪感的象征, 历史, 和价值观. 纸币或钞票上的图像传达了一个国家的身份和理想.

这些情感可以通过使用过去或现任国家领导人的形象来传达, 像女王或总统. 又或许是艺术家的形象, 作家, 音乐家, 或者也许是战争英雄. 通常是某人, 或与某个国家特别相关的事物.

所以, 这使得欧洲央行 (欧洲央行) 有一种特殊的问题. 你看, 它想要更改它使用的一些图像, 但它需要找到可识别的图像, 并且以某种方式连接, 或代表其经济联盟中包含的所有不同国家. 这是一个特殊的问题, 不是吗? 相当重要的决定. 所以, 正如文章所解释的, 他们正在应用智能解决方案. 他们正在举办竞赛,要求所有这些国家的公众提出图像和设计理念的想法. 一方面, 他们正在利用其境内所有人的创造力, 他们对这个过程持开放态度. 毕竟, 他们正在寻找有联系的图像, 和不分离的. 如果您想更深入地了解该主题, 我在播客笔记中包含了这篇文章的链接,您可以在 EnglishforEconomists.com 上找到. 当您在网站上时, 您还可以订阅提醒以了解针对经济学家的新英语课程. 任何人都需要阅读的专业课程, 用英语写或谈论经济, 可以使用.

或者, 如果您已经注册, 您还可以使用标题或文章中的关键字在互联网上搜索: “哪个国家的天才值得200欧元纸币?”

这是今天的词汇的快速回顾.

  • 钞票: 一张纸币.
  • 账单: 纸币的另一种说法.
  • 面值: 账单值多少钱.
  • 伪造: 伪造的 (错误的) 模仿真实货币而制作的货币.

好朋友, 我们对现金的依赖似乎逐年减少, 纸币, 账单, 钞票. 例如, 欧洲央行报告称,去年, 现金仅用于 59% 交易数量, 减少自 72% 三年前. 对于现代欧洲人来说, 金钱不在于实体票据,而在于智能手机屏幕上显示的内容. 可能跟你住的地方是一样的.

感谢您收听. 记住, 经济学不仅仅是数字; 这是关于人的, 身份, 以及我们共同的历史. 保持好奇心, 我很快就会回来,带来更多经济学家的英语单词. 直到那时, 保持安全并继续学习. 再见!

https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2023/08/31/which-countrys-genius-deserves-the-eu200-note

的图片 罗伯特·阿纳什不飞溅

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

缩胀, 紧缩通货膨胀和“社会经济”’

缩胀, 紧缩通货膨胀和“社会经济”’

你好, 朋友们. 很高兴回来. 离开已经有一段时间了, 我为你准备了特别的一集. 今天, 我们不只是报道一个而是两个头条新闻. 当我们看这些故事时, 我将向您介绍一些有趣的术语,它们描述了非常...

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

今天, 我们正在探索一个引人入胜的话题,该话题引起了金融界的广泛关注: 黑天鹅事件和白天鹅事件的概念. 我们今天的讨论和英语课的灵感来自于 1 月 30 日彭博社最近发表的一篇文章,题为, "A...

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

我们今天的课程基于《经济学人》杂志的一篇文章, 1月9日发表, 标题 "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。" 再听一遍, "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。"...

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

今天课程的来源是彭博新闻社的一篇文章, 标题为“开始新的一年你需要知道的五件事”. 这篇文章对市场做出了一些预测 2024. 他们说将会出现“美元熊市”、“债券牛市”和“稳定股票”…….

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

Europe Chooses New Banknote Design

Sep 27, 2023

Money, and specifically banknotes, is the theme of today’s English vocabulary lesson for economists. We will look at how the Eurozone is redesigning its paper money. It turns out that it is harder than you might think.

Welcome to English for Economists, the podcast meant for adults who need to discuss economic issues in English. My name is Alan Robert, and this is podcast number 80. Thanks very much for joining me today.

Europe’s Quest

Today, we’re unraveling a subject that touches on identity, security, and technology. We will be looking at a recent article from the Economist Magazine titled: “Which country’s genius deserves the €200 note? Europe prepares for a fight.”

So, from time to time, central banks or maybe government ministries need to acquire new banknotes. Banknotes:  that’s the paper money you use to buy things, you might know banknotes as ‘bills’ or ‘banknotes’). These eventually get old and need to be replaced.

Another reason to renew banknotes is to introduce a new denomination, and by denomination, I mean the value of the currency note, the amount that represents how much the note is worth.  Common denominations for banknotes might include values like $1, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, etc., depending on the currency and country in question.

Another reason to get new banknotes is so that the central bank can introduce bills that incorporate new security elements to make them harder to counterfeit (to make a fake copy).  And sometimes, and this is the point of our story today, central banks take advantage of the moment when they order new banknotes to update or change the images they use on the bill.  

You will probably agree with me when I say that banknotes are more than just paper. They’re symbols of national pride, history, and values. The imagery on a note or bill communicates a nation’s identity and ideals.

These sentiments might be conveyed through the use of the image of past or present national leaders, like a queen or a president. Or perhaps it’s the image of an artist, writer, musician, or maybe a war hero. It is usually a somebody, or something related specifically to one country.

So, that leaves the European Central Bank (ECB) with a special kind of problem. You see, it wants to change some of the images it uses, but it needs to find images that are recognizable, and that in some way connect, or represent all the different countries included in their economic union. It is a special kind of problem, isn’t it? Quite an important decision. So, as the article explains, they are applying a smart solution. They are holding contests where they ask the general public from all of these countries to suggest ideas of images and design ideas. On one hand, they are taking advantage of the creativity of all the people within their borders, and they are being open about the process. After all, they are looking for images that connect, and which don’t separate. If you want to dig a little deeper into the topic, I have included a link to the article in the podcast notes you can find at EnglishforEconomists.com. While you are on the website, you can also subscribe for alerts to hear about new English courses for economists. The kind of specialized lessons that anybody who needs to read, write or talk about the economy in English, can use.

Or, if you are already signed up, you can also search the internet using the keywords from the title or the article: “Which country’s genius deserves the €200 note?”

Here’s a quick review of today’s vocabulary.

  • Banknote: A piece of paper money.
  • Bills: Another term for paper money.
  • Denomination: How much the bill is worth.
  • Counterfeit: Fake (false) currency made to imitate the real thing.

Well friends, every year we seem to rely less on cash money, paper money, bills, banknotes. For example, the ECB reported that last year, cash was used for only 59% of transactions, a decrease from 72% three years prior. For the modern European, money is less about physical notes and more about what’s displayed on a smartphone screen. Probably it is the same where you live.

Thank you for tuning in. Remember, economics isn’t just numbers; it’s about people, identity, and our shared history. Stay inquisitive, and I’ll return soon with more English words for economists. Until then, stay safe and keep learning. Goodbye!

https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2023/08/31/which-countrys-genius-deserves-the-eu200-note

Foto de Robert Anasch en Unsplash

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) is Booming

In Episode 85,  we delve into a fascinating headline from early December published by CNN: ‘It’s lending on steroids’: How Buy Now, Pay Later companies are meeting an influx of demand despite higher costs....