用英语阅读课程
然后翻译成您自己的语言以验证您的理解.

央行数字货币, 稳定币, DeFi 和 Web3 | 英语课

简 24, 2023

你好, 来自世界各地的朋友. 欢迎收看经济学家英语播客.  这是播客号 63. 我是艾伦罗伯特,我很高兴你今天加入我. 感谢您的支持. 现在是 1 月 24 日, 2023, 今天我们的主题涉及数字货币的词汇, 更具体地说, 央行数字货币 (央行数字货币) 和稳定币.

敬请关注, 在这个简短的英语词汇课之后, 我会介绍一些很难发音的单词. 之后, 我将分享一个有用的英语惯用短语来描述金钱的浪费.

让我们开始使用新词汇吧. 听听这个标题, 1 月 5 日发表在 Coin Telegraph 上, 看看你是否明白他们想说的话:

https://Spotifyanchor-web.app.link/e/Av77dZ9iRwb

“香港立法会议员希望将 CBDC 变成以 DeFi 为特色的稳定币”

什么是 央行数字货币 代表? CBDCt 为中央银行数字货币. 它是一个国家法定货币的数字表示, 由该国中央银行发行和支持. 它旨在提供实物现金的数字替代品,可用于个人或企业之间的交易.

什么是‘稳定币' 意思是?

稳定币: 一个 稳定币 是一种与法定货币价值挂钩的加密货币, 或一篮子法定货币, 或其他资产以保持稳定的价值. 稳定币 可以由各种实体发行, 包括公司、金融机构等中心化组织.

什么是‘去中心化金融' 意思是? 去中心化金融 代表 “去中心化金融“, 它指的是基于区块链技术构建的金融服务生态系统,旨在提供开放且可访问的金融系统, 通过各方之间的直接交易. 换句话说, 它支持点对点交易. 换句话说, 它支持各种金融活动, 比如贷款, 贸易, 和投资, 无需传统中介, 例如银行.

现在, 我想教你一个与以下有密切关系的短语 去中心化金融, 或者 ‘去中心化金融’. 就是这句话 网络3. 它指的是下一代互联网. 正是这个新的互联网将成为自然环境 去中心化金融 产品.

我取标题的那篇文章接着解释了一位香港官员如何主张 央行数字货币 以一个形式 稳定币, 因为这将使央行数字货币的用户更容易获得所谓的“网络3’.

这是最后一次的标题: “香港立法会议员欲扭转局面 央行数字货币 进入 稳定币 特色 去中心化金融

好的, 在我们继续我们的发音部分之前, 我想提醒您,您现在可以访问 70 分钟的视频研讨会 “如何用英语进行精彩的演讲, 即使你的英语不是很好“. 它非常适合对自己的英语水平不满意的成人专业人士, 他们知道自己需要改进并变得更加流利, 但他们在工作中仍然需要用英语进行演示. 如果这是你, 看看这个课程. 这真的很有帮助.

发音

好吧, 让我们开始发音,然后, 你会学到一个新的习语.

聆听并重复这些经常发音错误的单词:

设想
易受伤害的
类别
移民
轮询

以防万一你不认识最后一个词‘轮询’, 它是一个动词和一个名词. 作为动词, '到 轮询' 意思是考虑某人对某事的看法. 例如, “他们采取了 轮询 在选举前了解公民打算如何投票”.

今天我想教你一些额外的东西. 对于经济学家或任何需要处理投资的人来说,这是一个有用的习语. 也许你以前听说过. 表达方式是‘坏钱之后再扔好钱’.

坏钱之后再扔好钱” 意味着继续投资亏损的企业, 而不是减少损失.

例子: “他继续在他失败的生意上投入更多的钱, 坏钱之后再扔好钱.”

与这句话类似 “把钱倒入下水道”

结论

目前为止就这样了. 如果您对更多与加密货币相关的词汇感兴趣, 请务必查看我们的课程 加密货币的担忧. 请记住与与您学习经济学英语有相同经历的同事分享这些课程. 分享就是关怀! 我很快就会回来上另一堂课.

我是 englishforeconomists.com 的艾伦·罗伯特。小心.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

补充词汇和例句

  • 后门 CBDC: 由稳定币发行人在中央银行持有的现金间接支持的数字货币, 而不是在中央银行开设直接账户.
    • 银行政策研究所声称,循环储备基金使用美联储的逆回购工具可以被视为一种 后门 CBDC.
  • 网络效应: 随着更多人使用产品或服务而变得更有价值的现象.
    • 最高的稳定币 网络效应 很可能成为市场上占主导地位的稳定币.
  • 交易对手: 与其签订财务合同的公司或个人, 以及谁可能需要履行合同条款.
    • 使用美联储作为 交易对手 在里面 逆回购 该设施显着降低了 USDC 稳定币的风险状况.
  • 反洗钱: 旨在防止洗钱的反洗钱法规和程序, 探测, 并报告洗钱活动.
    • 由于Circle Reserve Fund是高风险行业的唯一股东,因此在申请使用美联储的逆回购工具时可能会面临合规问题。 反洗钱 看法.

  • 去中心化金融: 去中心化金融, 基于区块链技术构建的金融系统,无需中介即可进行点对点交易.
    • 圆圈, USDC 的发行人 稳定币, 拥有强大的影响力 去中心化金融 空间.

  • 稳定币发行方: 一家公司发行 稳定币, 与法定货币或资产的价值挂钩的加密货币.
    • 贝莱德一直管理着 USDC 的大部分储备资产 稳定币稳定币发行人, 圆圈.

  • 风险状况: 与投资或金融产品相关的潜在风险摘要.
    • 循环储备基金使用美联储的逆回购工具将大大改善 风险状况 USDC 的 稳定币.

  • 唯一股东: 拥有公司所有股份的股东.
    • 由于其作为循环储备基金的地位,在申请使用美联储的逆回购工具时可能会面临合规问题。 唯一股东 在高风险行业 反洗钱 看法.

  • 飞向品质: 在经济不确定时期,投资者倾向于出售风险资产并将资金转向更安全的投资.
    • 如果 USDC 的一部分 稳定币 准备金被允许存放在美联储, 这可能会导致 追求品质 和一家潜在的银行遇到 稳定币.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________照片来源: 农场动物园 | 知识共享归属-相同方式共享 2.0 |数字编码货币

免责声明: 一些词汇定义是由 Assistant 编写的, 由 OpenAI 训练的大型语言模型. 作者已校对. (https://openai.com/blog/openai-assistant/) 来自 Assistant 的文字不一定反映 OpenAI 的观点或意见.

 

加入我们的播客俱乐部

您还可以在这些平台上订阅我们的播客:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0条评论

递交一条评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

最新播客

缩胀, 紧缩通货膨胀和“社会经济”’

缩胀, 紧缩通货膨胀和“社会经济”’

你好, 朋友们. 很高兴回来. 离开已经有一段时间了, 我为你准备了特别的一集. 今天, 我们不只是报道一个而是两个头条新闻. 当我们看这些故事时, 我将向您介绍一些有趣的术语,它们描述了非常...

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

'白天鹅’ 和《黑天鹅》’ 活动

今天, 我们正在探索一个引人入胜的话题,该话题引起了金融界的广泛关注: 黑天鹅事件和白天鹅事件的概念. 我们今天的讨论和英语课的灵感来自于 1 月 30 日彭博社最近发表的一篇文章,题为, "A...

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

‘钢铁自己’ 应对潜在的贸易战

我们今天的课程基于《经济学人》杂志的一篇文章, 1月9日发表, 标题 "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。" 再听一遍, "习近平有可能引发另一场贸易战。"...

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

预测 2024: 美元熊市, 债券多头, 和稳定的股票

今天课程的来源是彭博新闻社的一篇文章, 标题为“开始新的一年你需要知道的五件事”. 这篇文章对市场做出了一些预测 2024. 他们说将会出现“美元熊市”、“债券牛市”和“稳定股票”…….

Read the lesson in English  
then translate to your own language to verify your understanding.

CBDC, Stablecoins, DeFi and Web3 | English Lesson

Jan 24, 2023

Hello, friends from all over the world. Welcome to the English for Economists podcast.  This is podcast number 63. I am Alan Robert and I am very happy that you joined me today. Thank you for your support. It’s January 24th, 2023, and today our topic deals with the vocabulary of digital currencies, and more specifically, Central Bank Digital Currencies (CBDC) and stablecoins.

Stay tuned, following this brief English vocabulary lesson, I will cover some words that are difficult to pronounce. Afterward, I will share a useful idiomatic phrase in English to describe the wasteful use of money.

Let’s get started with our new vocabulary. Listen to this headline, which was published on January 5th in the Coin Telegraph, and see if you understand what they are trying to say:

https://spotifyanchor-web.app.link/e/Av77dZ9iRwb

“Hong Kong lawmaker wants to turn CBDC into stablecoin featuring DeFi”

What does CBDC stand for? CBDC stands for Central Bank Digital Currency. It is a digital representation of a country’s fiat currency, issued and backed by the country’s central bank. It is intended to provide a digital alternative to physical cash and can be used for transactions between individuals or businesses.

What does ‘Stablecoin’ mean?

Stablecoin: A stablecoin is a type of cryptocurrency that is pegged to the value of a fiat currency, or a basket of fiat currencies, or another asset in order to maintain a stable value. Stablecoins can be issued by various entities, including centralized organizations such as companies and financial institutions.

And what does ‘DeFi’ mean? DeFi stands for “Decentralized Finance“, it refers to an ecosystem of financial services built on blockchain technology that aims to provide an open and accessible financial system, through direct transactions between parties. In other words, it empowers peer-to-peer transactions. In other words, it enables various financial activities, such as lending, trading, and investment, without the need for traditional intermediaries, like banks for example.

Now, I want to teach you a phrase that has a strong relationship with decentralized finance, or ‘DeFi’. It is the phrase Web3.  And it refers to the next generation of the internet. It is this new internet that will be the natural environment for DeFi products.

The article I took the headline from goes on to explain how an official in Hong Kong has argued for CBDC in the form of a stablecoin, because this would make it easier for users of the central bank digital currency to access financial products offered in the so-called ‘Web3’.

Here is the headline one last time: “Hong Kong lawmaker wants to turn CBDC into stablecoin featuring DeFi

Okay, before we move on to our pronunciation section, I wanted to remind you that you can now access the 70-minute video seminar “How to Give Great Presentations in English, Even if your English Isn’t Great“. It is perfect for adult professionals who are not comfortable with their level of English, they know they need to improve and become more fluent, but they still need to give presentations in English at work. If this is you, check out this course. It’s really helpful.  

Pronunciation

Alright, let’s move to pronunciation and after that, you’ll learn a new idiom.

Listen and repeat these words that often get mispronounced:

Scenario
Vulnerable
Category
Migration
Poll

Just in case you didn’t recognize that last word ‘Poll’, it is a verb and a noun. As a verb, ‘To Poll’ means to count someone’s opinion on something. For example, “They took a poll before the election to see how the citizens intended to vote”.

I wanted to teach you something extra today. It is a helpful idiom for economists or anyone who needs to deal with investments. Maybe you have heard it before. The expression is to  ‘Throw good money after bad’.

Throw good money after bad” means to keep investing in a losing venture, instead of cutting losses.

Example: “He kept investing more money in his failing business, throwing good money after bad.”

It’s similar to the phrase “pouring money down the drain”

Conclusion

That’s all for now. If you’re interested in more cryptocurrency-related vocabulary, make sure to check out our lesson on Cryptocurrency Worries. Remember to share these lessons with your colleagues who are on the same journey as you are learning English for economics. Sharing is Caring! I’ll be back soon with another class.

This is Alan Robert at englishforeconomists.com.  Take care.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Supplemental Vocabulary and Sample Sentences

  • Backdoor CBDC: A digital currency that is indirectly backed by a stablecoin issuer’s cash held at the central bank, rather than having a direct account with the central bank.
    • The Bank Policy Institute claims that the use of the Federal Reserve’s reverse repo facility by the Circle Reserve Fund could be seen as a backdoor CBDC.
  • Network effect: The phenomenon where a product or service becomes more valuable as more people use it.
    • The stablecoin with the highest network effect is likely to become the dominant stablecoin in the market.
  • Counterparty: A company or person with whom a financial contract is made, and who may be required to fulfill the terms of the contract.
    • The use of the Federal Reserve as a counterparty in the reverse repo facility significantly reduces the risk profile of the USDC stablecoin.
  • AML: Anti-money laundering regulations and procedures designed to prevent, detect, and report money laundering activities.
    • The Circle Reserve Fund may face compliance issues when applying for access to the Federal Reserve’s reverse repo facility due to its status as a sole shareholder in a high-risk sector from an AML perspective.

  • DeFi: Decentralized finance, a financial system built on blockchain technology that allows for peer-to-peer transactions without the need for intermediaries.
    • Circle, the issuer of the USDC stablecoin, has a strong presence in the DeFi space.

  • Stablecoin issuer: A company that issues a stablecoin, a cryptocurrency that is pegged to the value of a fiat currency or asset.
    • BlackRock has been managing a large portion of the reserve assets of the USDC stablecoin on behalf of the stablecoin issuer, Circle.

  • Risk profile: A summary of the potential risks associated with an investment or financial product.
    • The use of the Federal Reserve’s reverse repo facility by the Circle Reserve Fund would considerably improve the risk profile of the USDC stablecoin.

  • Sole shareholder: A shareholder who owns all of the shares in a company.
    • The Circle Reserve Fund may face compliance issues when applying for access to the Federal Reserve’s reverse repo facility due to its status as a sole shareholder in a high-risk sector from an AML perspective.

  • Flight to quality: The tendency of investors to sell risky assets and move their money into safer investments during times of economic uncertainty.
    • If a proportion of the USDC stablecoin reserves were allowed to be parked at the Federal Reserve, it could result in a flight to quality and a potential bank run into the stablecoin.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Photo credit: FamZoo | Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 |Digital Coded Money

Disclaimer: Some of the vocabulary definitions were written by Assistant, a large language model trained by OpenAI. The author has proofread. (https://openai.com/blog/openai-assistant/) The writing used from Assistant does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of OpenAI.

 

Join Our Podcast Club

You Can Also Subscribe to Our Podcast On These Platforms:

Follow us on spotify
Apple Podcast

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Podcasts

The 996 Culture

The 996 Culture

What is the 996 culture? This refers to a work schedule that has been making waves in the tech industry, particularly in China. Yes, the "996" culture. It’s a practice that's been both supported and criticized for its impact on employees and companies alike. But...

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Shrinkflation, Skimpflation and the ‘Sheconomy’

Hello, friends. It’s great to be back. Having been away for quite some time, I've prepared a special episode for you. Today, we're not just covering one but two headlines. As we look at these stories, I'll introduce you to some fascinating terms that describe very...

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

‘White Swan’ and ‘Black Swan’ Events

Today, we're exploring a fascinating topic that has attracted a lot of attention in financial circles: the concept of Black Swan and White Swan events. Our discussion and English class today was inspired by a recent Bloomberg article from January 30th titled, "A...

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

‘Steel Yourself’ for a Potential Trade War

Our lesson today is based on an article from The Economist Magazine, published on January 9th, titled "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war." Listen again, "Xi Jinping risks setting off another trade war."...

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

Predictions 2024: Dollar Bears, Bond Bulls, and Steady Stocks

The source for today’s lesson is an article taken from Bloomberg News, titled “Five Things You Need to Know to Start Your Year”. The article makes several predictions about markets in 2024. They say that there will be “Dollar Bears” “Bond Bulls” and “Steady Stocks”....